Serve & Ramblings on New Year’s Resolutions

It’s the 20th of January. Is it too late to write a blog post about New Year’s Resolutions? The author of this post says no – so here we go people.

When I was a child my parents, sisters, and I would spend the last day of every year celebrating with family in Milwaukee. After a few hours of appetizers and games, everyone would gather around my aunt’s big table  and play “The Resolution Game”. We all had to write out three resolutions for the upcoming year, then we would put them in a big pile in the middle of the table, my aunt would read them out loud, and we would try to guess who wrote what resolutions.

Lose ten pounds, get more sleep, and spend less time working were always big adult resolutions. Getting all A’s and reading more were usually found on the list of my nerdy child self. After our game was over our slips of paper would be hidden at the bottom of my aunt’s underwear drawer (not joking) for 365 days until we would all gather again to see who successfully completed their resolutions.

With the exception of the one year I vowed to stop drinking soda, the resolutions were rarely remembered – much less kept – past the end of January. Because face it, New Year’s resolutions are hard. As we close a year and begin another it’s no sweat to be optimistic. Come mid-January we realize that a realistic alternative to the 365 day promise we made just fifteen days before will be a lot more manageable to keep.

All this rambling leads me to our 2016 resolutions. Because resolutions are quickly forgotten  and our written out goals are easily lost under a pile of clean underwear, Ryan and I opted to choose a word of the year. (Which after doing some online research to write this post, apparently is a pretty popular thing.) We try to sprinkle this mantra throughout our day and doodle it on slips of paper that we’ll stumble across in the coming weeks.

And our word for 2016 is?

Serve.

This year we want to start each day with servant hearts. Doing this has already changed the way I look at my relationship with Ryan, my job, and my purpose on this earth. When I’m making coffee for people who clearly need coffee, and I could use a cup of coffee myself, and it’s 6:30 am and I’m questioning why I’m at work I remind myself, serve. When Ryan works late and I’m on duty to make dinner (confession – I am not the best chef in this household) I remind myself, serve.  And when the days are cold and long and we’d much rather be curled up at home watching Netflix than volunteering our time at church and school we remind each other: serve. 

So friends did you make a resolution for 2016? What’s your word?

You, my brothers and sisters, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the flesh; rather, serve one another humbly in love. Galatians 5:13

Leave a Reply

